The Website is still under construction...

Wilton Public & Gregg Free Library

  Catalog     Website  
Wilton Public & Gregg Free Library

  Catalog     Website  

Ladybug Award Winner

Ladybug red and green logo

snail coverThe Ladybug Picture Book Award is designed to promote early literacy and honor the best in recent children's picture books. A committee of children's librarians from around the state selects 10 picture book titles each spring. Then, during November, New Hampshire children from preschoolers to those in third grade choose the award winner. The winning picture book is announced at the end of the year.

The 2021 Ladybug Picture Book Award winner is Snail Crossing by Corey R, Tabor.

Ladybug Nominees

2022 Ladybug Nominees have been announced!  TItles in bold are available on our shelves. 

  • Change Sings: A Children's Anthem by Amanda Gorman and Loren Long  
  • Mel Fell by Corey Tabor 
  • Milk & Juice: A Recycling Romance by Meredith Crandall Brown
  • Norman Didn't Do It (Yes, he did) by Ryan T. Higgins 
  • On Account of the Gum by Adam Rex   
  • A Polar Bear in the Snow by Mac Barnett and Shawn Harris 
  • Someone Builds the Dream by Lisa Wheeler and Loren Long 
  • This Very Tree: A Story of 9/11, Resilience, and Regrowth by Sean Rubin 
  • The Very Impatient Caterpillar by Ross Burach 
  • Watercress by Andrea Wang and Jason Chin

The following titles are the nominees for 2021: 

  • Snail Crossing by Corey Tabor
  • We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom
  • Outside In by Deborah Underwood
  • If You Come To Earth by Sophie Blackall
  • I Am Enough by Grace Byers
  • Hike by Pete Oswald
  • Hair Love by Matthew Cherry 
  • Lift by Minh Lee
  • Swashby And The Sea by Beth Ferry
  • I Am Every Good Thing by Derrick Barnes

Great Stone Face Award

Each year, New Hampshire students in 4th through 6th grade can vote on their favorite from a list ofWildfire : When Trees Explode by Rodman Philbrick - Used (Good) - 133826690X by Scholastic, Incorporated | 20 books.  The winner becomes the recipient of the Great Stone Face Book Award. 


The winner for 2021 is Wildfire by Rodman Philbrick. 


Nominees for the 2021-2022 award that we have on the shelf at the WPL:

The Barren Grounds by David A. Robertson

Before The Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson

The Blackbird Girls by Anne Blankman

The Boy Who Failed Show And Tell by Jordan Sonnenblick

Brave LIke That by Lindsay Stoddard

Fighting Words by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Ground Zero by Alan Gratz

The List Of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead

The Lonely Heart Of Maybelle Lane by Kate O'Shaughnessy

No Place For Monsters by Kory Merritt

Pine Island Home by Polly Horvath

Prairie Lotus by Linda Sue Park

The Silver Arrow (audiobook) by Lev Grossman

Stepping Stones by Lucy Knisley

The Truth According To Blue by Eve Yohalem

Unplugged by Gordon Korman

When Stars Are Scattered  by Victoria Jamieson and Omar Mohammed

Winterborne Home For Vengence And Valor by Ally Carter


Isinglass Award

The Isinglass Award winner for 2021-  Brigid Kemmerer's  A Curse So Dark And Lonely .

The Isinglass Teen Read Award  promotes teen reading, the participation of teens in the creation of their own reading list, and honors those authors whose works speak to youth.  Voting is done annually in April.

Titles must be nominated by teens in grades 7-8, can be fiction or nonfiction books, and must have a publication date within the last two years. 

Current short list for 2022 ( all are available on the shelf or on Overdrive) 

  • Bloom by Kenneth Oppel
  • Cinderella Is Dead by Kalynn Bayron
  • Don't Ask Me Where I'm From by Jennifer DeLeon
  • Dress Coded by Carrie Firestone
  • Inheritence Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  • The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen
  • Most Likely by Sarah Watson
  • Running by Natalia Sylvester
  • Rural Voices edited by Nora Shalaway Carpenter
  • Show Me A Sign by Ann Clare LeZotte
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by Jason Reynolds

Flume Award

The Flume Award is given to books nominated by New Hampshire teens in grades 9-12. With the Fire on High

The books must have a publication date within the last two years, and are nominated and voted upon by teens - with a little librarian help to make the list manageable!

The 2021 Flume Award winner is With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo.


Flume Short List ( 2022) 

  • All These Monsters by Amy Tintera
  • Be Not Far From Me by Mindy McGinnis
  • Body Talk: 37 Voices Explore Our Radical Anatomy edited by Kelly Jensen
  • Cemetary Boys by Aiden Thomas
  • Foul Is Fair by Hannah Capin
  • A Good Girls Guide To Murder by Holly Jackson ( audiobook)
  • This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda
  • Thoughts And Prayers by Bryan Bliss
  • We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez
  • You Should See Me In A Crown by Leah Johnson
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by Jason Reynolds

Newbery Medal Award

The Newbery Medal Award honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


The 2022 Newbery Medal went to Donna Barba Higuera for The Last Cuentista, published by Levine Querido

The 2021 Newbery Medal Award winner is When You Trap A Tiger, written by Tae Keller and published by Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House.Image result for when you trap a tiger

For more information about The Newbery Medal Award, The Newbery Honor Award, and former winners, visit:

The Newbery Medal Award turns 100 this year-  happy birthday! 


Caldecott Medal Award

The Caldecott Medal Award is given to the illustrator of that year's "most distinguished American picturebook for children". 

The 2022 Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book is awarded to Jason Chin for Watercress, written by Andrea Wang and published by Neal Porter Books, Holiday House.




Last year's award winner was Michaela Goade, the illustrator of We Are Water Protectors written byWe Are Water Protectors (ebook) Carole Lindstrom and published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings.


Click here for more information about the Caldecott Medal Award.



Other Awards


For a comprehensive list of all national book awards, go to: